x

Portfolio

AUSZUG AUS DEM PORTFOLIO

Altavo

Altavo is a Dresden-based Medtech start-up with the vision of improving the reha­bili­tation and quality of life of people without a voice. Based on a combi­nation of AI algo­rithms and non-invasive radar sensor techno­logy, the company is deve­loping an arti­ficial voice that sets new standards in terms of voice quality and user-friendli­ness. The first field of appli­cation is cancer patients who have lost their voice after laryn­gectomy.

Chipmetrics

Chipmetrics sets a new standard by developing and manu­facturing innovative metrology chips and wafers for the semiconductor industry. The Finnish company is the leading expert in con­formality measure­ments of thin films using 3D high aspect ratio test elements. Appli­cations are in thin film process develop­ment, tool quali­fication and quality assurance in semi­conductor and advanced materials manu­facturing – a rapidly growing and evolving industry.

ReCatalyst

ReCatalyst is a Slovenian spin-off company of the National Institute of Chemistry in Ljubljana, developing innovative catalysts for fuel cells. The company is building a ground­breaking nano­technology platform for the production of cutting-edge (electro)catalysts for fuel cells and water electrolyzers with the mission to optimize the use of platinum group metals. The company is dedicated to accelerating the decarbonization of the energy and transport sectors.

EBAMed

EBAMed is a Geneva-based medical device company active in the ambitious field of proton therapy. The company is developing a novel treat­ment system to monitor and react to heart movement during cardiac radioablation proce­dures. The aim is to reduce the volume of healthy heart exposed to more than 20 gray of protons/photons during cardiac radio ablation, thereby maxi­mizing long-term safety for patients.

core sensing

core sensing from Darmstadt develops an innovative sensor technology that uses smart sensors inside mechanical components in combination with intelligent algorithms to provide valuable insights into machines, plants and commercial vehicles. This allows them to be digitized and thus operated more efficiently, potential problems to be detected at an early stage, expensive scrap and downtime costs to be avoided, and new digital business models to be implemented.

avelo

Avelo is a Zurich-based diagnostics startup developing a simple breath collector to improve the diagnosis of tuberculosis and other respiratory infections that cause pneumonia – the fourth leading cause of death worldwide. The breath collector will enable non-invasive and painless samples, particularly from the lower respiratory tract, which can be analyzed with existing PCR testing infrastructure.

mk2 Biotechnologies

mk2 is a Munich-based biotechnology company specializing in the development, production and research of peptides. The basis for this is a revolutionary technology platform, which enables the scalable and thus cost-effective synthesis of peptides of the highest quality and purity. With the help of this tech­nology, authentic peptides with any physical and chemical properties can be synthesized.

hemotune

hemotune is developing a unique approach to extracorporeal blood purification. The HemoSystem platform technology uses magnetic nanoparticles to selectively remove previously inaccessible biomolecules from the blood. Initially, the method is to be used primarily in cases of an uncontrolled immune reaction (septic shock). In addition, the platform can also be used for a variety of other indications.

Tubulis

Tubulis uses proprietary technologies to develop novel drugs whose mechanisms of operation address the deep-seated causes of the respective disease. The goal is to expand the therapeutic potential of Antibody Drug Conjugates (ADCs) to enable more targeted and effective treatment of cancer and other diseases.

Code Intelligence

Code Intelligence enables software security testing through innovative fuzzing already in the development phase. Using CI Fuzz, vulner­abilities can be detected earlier and fully automatically, so that developers can analyze bugs faster and fix them at the code base. CI Fuzz thus drastically improves software stability and reliability.

Algiax Pharmaceuticals

Algiax Pharmaceuticals researches and develops innovative products for the treatment of diseases with high unmet medical demand. The core of the development is AP-325, a low-molecular GABAA receptor modulator, which is currently in clinical development as a therapy for neuropathic pain.

Thermosome

Thermosome is a clinical-stage drug development company focused on targeted tumor therapy with immune stimulation for improved cancer therapy. At its core is a novel, proprietary tumor targeting approach that allows for increased local drug concentrations and improved tumor penetration to achieve improved clinical treatment efficacy. The lead candidate THE001 is a thermosensitive formulation of doxorubicin being developed in soft tissue sarcoma.

iThera

iThera Medical develops optoacoustic imaging systems for preclinical research and clinical diagnostics. Optoacoustics uses the photo­acoustic effect – absorption of laser light in tissue generates an ultrasound signal – the analysis of which, without invasive intervention, provides information on a wide range of indications, such as cancer or inflammatory diseases.

Resistell

Resistell is developing a technology for quicker, more precise antibiotic susceptibility testing. After bacteria have been exposed to antibiotics, their effect can be demonstrated by the changing movement of bacterial cells. In comparison to a culture-based antibiogram, this method provides results within a few hours. This allows patients to receive the right medication in the right concentration, from day one.

Implandata

Implandata Ophthalmic Products (IOP) designs, produces and distributes disruptive solutions for ophthalmology, particularly for glaucoma patients. The CE-approved eyemate® system combines state-of-the-art medical technology with digital health solutions and therefore enables more efficient therapy and disease management.

advanceCOR

advanceCOR develops innovative medications for the treatment of cardio­vascular diseases. At the heart of this research and development is Revacept®, a therapeutic agent in clinical development for the treatment of acute arterial thromboses and thromboembolism.

4tiitoo

4tiitoo develops a framework for Natural User Interfaces (NUIA), which can be used in all applications and which allows controlling the computer using eyes, gestures and speech. As a result, workplaces can be designed more productively and employees can accomplish their tasks more efficiently, safely and with fewer ergonomic restrictions.

Insphero

InSphero offers advanced yet easy-to-use tissue-based 3D assay solutions for predictive drug classification to bring more reliable, effective drugs to the market faster. The core of the solution are the physiologically relevant 3D InSight™ platforms and associated microchip technologies.

iMusician

iMusician provides copyright services to musicians around the world. The company monetizes copyrights, organizes digital distribution, handles license fees and also offers mastering of tracks for tens of thousands of musicians.

EXITS

adivo

EXIT

adivo developed a technology platform for the selection of species-specific thera­peutic anti­bodies for veterinary medicine. These anti­bodies had predefined characte­ristics that enabled the generation of lead candidates with optimal functio­nality for dogs and other animals. After the ongoing colla­boration in canine antibody drug discovery since 2021, which was expanded to include adivo’s novel feline antibody library in 2022, the exit to Zoetis Inc. (NYSE:ZTS), the global leader in animal health, took place in 2023.

Lunaphore

EXIT

Lunaphore was developing an immuno­histo­chemical testing procedure that uses micro­fluidic systems to achieve faster, more precise analysis of tumor tissue. In addition, Lunaphore enabled digital pathology by inte­grating imaging systems such as a micro­scope with sequential data extraction. Lunaphore was acquired by the global life sciences company Bio-Techne Corporation (NASDAQ:TECH) in 2023.

Versantis

EXIT

Versantis developed drugs and diagnostics for the treatment of acute and chronic liver failure with the aim of revolutionizing previous standards of care. The lead project VS-01 was in pre-clinical phase 2 at exit with the potential to become a first-line therapy for chronic liver failure. Versantis was acquired by GENFIT in September 2022 to jointly continue the develop­ment of its revolutionary therapeutics.

GNA Biosolutions

EXIT

GNA Biosolutions developed a disruptive PCA (Pulse Controlled Amplification) technology for DNA analysis from complex clinical samples. GNA’s technology delivers results within a few minutes and is therefore significantly faster and cheaper than other solutions in the field of mole­cular diagnostics. GNA’s rapid tests are also used for the diagnosis of COVID-19.

Cunesoft

EXIT

cunesoft developed an innovative software platform for the pharma­ceutical industry’s regulatory processes, which leads to more efficient processes and thus to easier and faster drug approval. In early 2020, the company exited to Phlexglobal, a leading provider of technologies and services in the clinical and regulatory area.

Kooaba

EXIT

kooaba developed an augmented reality technology platform for image recognition on mobile devices. By enriching it with additional information about the identified object, an exciting combination of the physical world with digital content is created. In 2014, kooaba was acquired by Qualcomm, one of the world’s largest semiconductor manufacturers and suppliers of products for mobile communications.

GET
IN
TOUCH

team@occident.ventures

Meet us here!

x

Portfolio

AUSZUG AUS DEM PORTFOLIO

Altavo

Altavo ist ein Dresdner MedTech-Startup mit der Vision, die Reha­bili­tation und Lebens­qualität von stimm­losen Menschen zu verbessern. Basierend auf der Kombi­nation von KI-Algorithmen und Radar­sensor­techno­logie entwickelt das Unter­nehmen eine künst­liche Stimme, welche neue Maßstäbe in Bezug auf Sprach­qualität und Benutzer­freundlich­keit setzt. Erstes An­wen­dungs­feld sind Krebs­patienten, die nach einer Kehl­kopf­ent­fernung ihre Stimme verloren haben.

Chipmetrics

Chipmetrics setzt neue Maßstäbe mit Ent­wick­lung und Produktion innovativer Mess­chips und Wafer für die Halb­leiter­industrie. Das finnische Unter­nehmen ist führender Experte für Kon­formi­täts­messungen von Dünn­schichten mit 3D-Test­chips mit hohem Aspekt­verhält­nis. Die Anwendungen liegen in der Ent­wicklung von Dünns­chicht­prozessen und der Qualitäts­sicherung bei Halb­leitern und neu­artigen Materialien – ein schnell wachsender und hoch­innovativer Bereich.

ReCatalyst

ReCatalyst ist ein slowenisches Spin-off des National Institute of Chemistry in Ljubljana, das innovative Katalysatoren für Brenn­stoff­zellen entwickelt. Das Unter­nehmen baut eine bahn­brechende Nano­technologie-Platt­form für die Herstellung hoch­moderner (Elektro-)Katalysa­toren für Brenn­stoff­zellen und Elektrolyseure mit dem Ziel, die Verwendung von Platin zu opti­mieren. Das Ziel ist es, die Dekarbonisierung des Energie- und Verkehrs­sektors zu beschleunigen.

EBAMed

EBAMed ist ein in Genf ansässiges Medizin­technik­unternehmen im aufstrebenden und zukunftsgerichteten Bereich der Protonen­therapie. Das Unternehmen entwickelt ein neuartiges Behandlungsverfahren, um die Herzbewegungen während einer kardialen Radioablation zu überwachen und darauf zu reagieren. Ziel ist es, das Volumen des gesunden Herzens, das während einer kardialen Radio­ablation mehr als 20 Gray Protonen/Photonen ausgesetzt ist, zu reduzieren und damit die langfristige Sicherheit für die Patienten zu maximieren.

core sensing

core sensing aus Darmstadt entwickelt eine innovative Sensortechnologie, bei der smarte Sensoren im Inneren von mechanischen Komponenten in Kombination mit intelligenten Algorithmen wertvolle Einblicke in Maschinen, Anlagen und Nutzfahrzeuge liefern. So können diese digitalisiert und damit effizienter betrieben, mögliche Probleme frühzeitig erkannt, teurer Ausschuss und Ausfallskosten vermieden und neue digitale Geschäftsmodelle umgesetzt werden.

avelo

Avelo ist ein in Zürich ansässiges Diagnostik-Startup und entwickelt einen einfachen Breath Collector, um die Diagnose von Tuberkulose und anderen Atemwegsinfektionen zu verbessern, die Lungenentzündungen verursachen – die vierthäufigste Todesursache weltweit. Der Breath Collector wird nicht-invasive und schmerz­lose Proben ermöglichen, insbesondere von den unteren Atemwegen, welche mit bestehender PCR-Testinfrastruktur analysiert werden können.

mk2 Biotechnologies

mk2 ist ein in München ansässiges Bio­tech­nologie­-Unternehmen, welches sich auf die Entwicklung, Produktion und Erforschung von Peptiden spezialisiert hat. Grundlage hierfür ist eine revolutionäre Technologie­­plattform, welche die skalierbare und damit kosten­günstige Synthese von Peptiden in höchster Qualität und Reinheit ermöglicht. Mithilfe dieser Technologie können authentische Peptide mit beliebigen phy­si­kalischen und chemischen Eigen­schaften synthetisiert werden.

Hemotune

hemotune entwickelt einen einzigartigen Ansatz zur extrakorporalen Blutreinigung. Die Plattform­technologie HemoSystem entfernt mit Hilfe von magnetischen Nanopartikeln gezielt bisher unzugängliche Biomoleküle aus dem Blut. Das Verfahren soll zunächst vor allem bei einer unkontrollierten Immunreaktion (septischer Schock) angewendet werden. Darüber hinaus kann die Plattform auch für eine Vielzahl weiterer Indikationen verwendet werden.

Tubulis

Tubulis nutzt proprietäre Technologien zur Entwicklung neuartiger Medikamente, deren Wirkmechanismen tief an der Ursache der jeweiligen Krankheit ansetzen. Das Ziel ist es, das therapeutische Potenzial von Antibody Drug Conjugates (ADCs) zu erweitern, um so eine zielgerichtetere und effektivere Therapie von Krebs sowie anderen Erkrankungen zu ermöglichen.

Code Intelligence

Code Intelligence ermöglicht Software-Sicherheitstests durch innovatives Fuzzing bereits in der Entwicklungs­phase. Mittels CI Fuzz können Schwachstellen früher und voll­automatisch erkannt werden, sodass Entwickler die Fehler schneller analysieren und an der Code-Basis beheben können. So verbessert CI Fuzz die Stabilität und Zuverlässigkeit von Software drastisch.

Algiax Pharmaceuticals

Algiax Pharmaceuticals erforscht und realisiert innovative Produkte zur Behandlung von Krankheiten mit einem hohen ungedeckten medizinischen Bedarf. Kern der Entwicklung ist AP-325, ein niedermolekularer GABAA-Rezeptor-Modulator, der sich in der klinischen Entwicklung als Therapie für neuropathische Schmerzen befindet.

Thermosome

Thermosome konzentriert sich auf die gezielte Tumortherapie mit Stimulation des Immun­systems zur Verbesserung der Krebstherapie. Kern ist ein neuartiger Ansatz zur gezielten Tumorbehandlung, der eine erhöhte lokale Wirkstofftumorkonzentration und eine verbesserte Tumorpenetration ermöglicht, um die klinische Behandlung zu verbessern. Das Kernprodukt THE001 ist eine thermosensitive Formulierung von Doxorubicin und wird im Weichteilsarkom entwickelt.

iThera

iThera Medical entwickelt opto­akustische Bildgebungssysteme für die präklinische Forschung und klinische Diagnostik. Optoakustik nutzt den photoakustischen Effekt – Absorption von Laserlicht im Gewebe erzeugt ein Ultra­schallsignal – dessen Analyse ohne invasiven Eingriff Aufschluss über eine Vielzahl von Indikationen, wie beispiels­weise Krebs oder Entzündungs­krankheiten, gibt.

Resistell

Resistell entwickelt eine Technologie zur präziseren und schnelleren Identifikation von Antibiotika­resistenzen. Nachdem Bakterien mit Antibiotika in Kontakt gebracht wurden, lässt sich deren Wirkung über die veränderte Bewegung von Bakterien­zellen nachweisen. Im Gegensatz zu einem kulturbasierten Antibio­gramm liefert diese Methode die Resultate innerhalb von wenigen Stunden. So erhalten Patienten unmittelbar die richtige Medikation in der richtigen Konzentration.

Implandata

Implandata Ophthalmic Products (IOP) entwirft, produziert und vertreibt disruptive Lösungen für die Augen­heilkunde, insbesondere für Glaukom-Patienten. Das CE zugelassene eyemate® System vereint modernste Medizintechnik mit digitalen Gesundheitslösungen und ermöglicht somit effizientere Therapieführung und Krankheits­management.

advanceCOR

advanceCOR entwickelt innovative Medikamente zur Behandlung von Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen. Herzstück der Forschung und Entwicklung ist Revacept®, ein Therapeutikum in der klinischen Entwicklung zur Behandlung von akuten arteriellen Thrombosen und Thromboembolien.

4tiitoo

4tiitoo entwickelt ein Framework für Natural User Interfaces (NUIA), welches in allen Applikationen anwendbar ist und wodurch die Steuerung des Computers mit Augen, Gesten und Sprache erfolgen kann. Damit können Arbeitsplätze produktiver gestaltet werden und Mitarbeiter ihre Aufgaben effizienter, sicherer und mit weniger ergonomischen Einschränkungen erledigen.

Insphero

InSphero bietet fortschrittliche und dennoch einfach zu verwendende gewebebasierte 3D-Assay-Lösungen zur prädiktiven Klassifizierung von Wirkstoffen an, um zuverlässigere und wirksamere Medikamente schneller auf den Markt zu bringen. Herzstück sind die physiologisch relevanten 3D InSight™ Platt­formen und die dazugehörigen Mikrochip-Technologien.

iMusician

iMusician ist im Bereich urheber­rechtliche Dienstleistungen für Musiker auf der ganzen Welt tätig. Das Unternehmen monetarisiert Urheber­rechte, organisiert den digitalen Vertrieb, kümmert sich um die Lizenzgebühren und bietet darüber hinaus noch das Mastering von Tracks für Zehntausende von Musikern an.

EXITS

adivo

EXIT

adivo entwickelte eine Technologie­platt­form für die Auswahl von spezies-spezifischen thera­peutischen Anti­körpern für die Veterinär­medizin. Diese Anti­körper hatten vordefinierte Merkmale, welche die Generierung von Lead Candidates mit optimaler Funktio­nalität für Hunde und weitere Tiere ermöglichten. Nach der seit 2021 laufenden Zusammen­arbeit zur Erforschung von Anti­körpern für Hunde, die 2022 um adivos neuartige Anti­körper­bibliothek für Katzen erweitert wurde, erfolgte dann 2023 der Exit an Zoetis Inc. (NYSE:ZTS).

Lunaphore

EXIT

Lunaphore entwickelte ein immuno­histo­chemisches Testverfahren, wodurch dank mikro­fluidischen Systemen eine schnellere und präzisere Analyse von Tumor­gewebe erreicht wird. Darüber hinaus ermöglichte Lunaphore die digitale Patho­logie durch die Inte­gration von bild­gebenden Systemen wie etwa einem Mikro­skop mit sequentieller Daten­extraktion. Lunaphore wurde 2023 vom globalen Life-Sciences-Unter­nehmen Bio-Techne Corporation (NASDAQ:TECH) über­nommen.

Versantis

EXIT

Versantis entwickelte Medikamente und Diagnostika für die Behandlung von akutem und chronischem Leberversagen mit dem Ziel, bisherige Behandlungs­standards zu revolutio­nieren. Das Haupt­projekt VS-01 befand sich beim Exit vor der klinischen Phase 2 mit dem Potenzial zur Erst­linien­therapie für chronisches Leber­versagen. Versantis wurde im September 2022 von GENFIT übernommen, um gemeinsam die Entwicklung der revolutionären Therapeutika fortzusetzen.

GNA Biosolutions

EXIT

GNA Biosolutions ent­wickelte eine dis­ruptive PCA-Tech­no­logie (Pulse Controlled Am­plifi­cation) zur DNA-Analyse aus kom­plexen kli­nischen Proben. Die Tech­nologie von GNA liefert Er­gebnisse inner­halb weniger Minuten und ist somit deut­lich schneller sowie kosten­­günstiger als andere Lö­sungen im Be­reich der mole­kularen Dia­gnostik. Unter anderem werden die Schnell­tests von GNA auch zur Dia­gnostik von COVID-19 verwendet.

Cunesoft

EXIT

cunesoft entwickelte eine innovative Software­plattform für die regulatorischen Prozesse der pharmazeutischen Industrie, welche zu effizienteren Prozessen und somit zu einer einfacheren und schnelleren Medikamenten­zulassung führt. Anfang 2020 erfolgte der Exit an Phlexglobal, einem führenden Anbieter von Technologien und Dienstleistungen im klinischen und regulatorischen Bereich.

Kooaba

EXIT

kooaba entwickelte eine Augmented-Reality-Technologieplattform zur Bilder­kennung auf mobilen Endgeräten. Durch die Anreicherung mit zusätzlichen Informationen über das identifizierte Objekt erfolgt eine spannende Verbindung der physischen Welt mit digitalem Content. 2014 wurde kooaba von Qualcomm, einem der weltweit größten Halbleiterhersteller und Anbieter von Produkten für die Mobil­funkkommunikation, übernommen.

GET
IN
TOUCH

team@occident.ventures

Meet us here!