x

Ventures

Motivation

We invest in ventures, because we believe that innovation and progress will improve the quality of life in the future.

We are fascinated by founders with visionary ideas and solid business skills – people who can take a good idea and build it into a great enterprise.

Our investment decisions are driven by a strong orientation towards the future. Following our guiding principle that “tomorrow happens today”, we finance start-ups in the present that will generate added value for society in the future.

For us, one of most important prerequisites for investment is to understand the technology and the product.

As a partner for start-ups, we offer strong financial backing, a long-term outlook and wide-ranging areas of expertise. We value mutual trust and, if necessary, are happy to get involved. As experienced business people ourselves, we are familiar with the challenges of running a successful company.

Investment focus

We invest in ventures in the fields of high-tech, digital and the life sciences.

As investors, we are essentially open-minded and interested in the challenging topics of the future.

If – after a thorough examination – we identify a specific potential for success, we invest in compelling start-ups that make sense. For us, the people behind a start-up, along with their vision and motivation, are the keys to success. Fundamentally speaking, the technology and the product must offer tangible benefits to potential customers.

 

We’re seeking

  • highly motivated founders and dynamic teams who are working to reach ambitious goals and change the future;
  • excellent technology and proucts with the potential to evolve, and strong patents.

We provide

  • initial financing in return for a minority stake from the seed stage onwards (from EUR 500,000 in the life sciences and high-tech industries, and from EUR 250,000 in the field of digital);
  • follow-up financing in the event of convincing results;
  • geographical focus on Germany and Switzerland

Portfolio excerpt

Numbrs

Numbrs develops and sells products for the execution of bank transactions, the purchasing of financial products and asset management. The namesake application is the market leader among bank-independent banking apps in Germany.

Lunaphore

Based on immunohistochemical testing procedures, Lunaphore is developing a method to analyze tumor tissue more quickly and more precisely, thanks to microfluidic systems.

advanceCOR

Using companion diagnostics, advanceCOR develops innovative medications for the personalized treatment of cardiovascular diseases. The company specializes in innovative biological medications in areas with strong medical demand, with development from the pre-clinical phase through to proof of concept in phase II studies on patients.

hemotune

hemotune develops a unique approach to extracorporeal blood purification. The HemoSystem platform technology uses magnetic nanoparticles to selectively remove previously inaccessible biomolecules from the blood. Initially, the method is to be used primarily in cases of an uncontrolled immune reaction (septic shock). In addition, the platform can also be used for a variety of other indications.

TUBULIS

Tubulis uses proprietary technologies to develop novel drugs whose mechanisms of operation address the deep-seated causes of the respective disease. The goal is to expand the therapeutic potential of Antibody Drug Conjugates (ADCs) to enable more targeted and effective treatment of cancer and other diseases.

Code Intelligence

Code Intelligence helps companies to build secure and reliable software by automating their security testing process. The ‘CI Fuzz’ platform allows every company to benefit from the advantages of modern fuzzing. The focus on effortless usability enables security testing experts and developers alike to perform continuous automated security and reliability tests.

Algiax Pharmaceuticals

Algiax Pharmaceuticals is a Düsseldorf-based clinical-stage biotechnology company. It is dedicated to the discovery and development of innovative products to treat diseases with high unmet medical needs. Algiax’ lead candidate AP-325 is a small-molecule GABAA receptor modulator for the treatment of neuropathic pain.

GNA Biosolutions

GNA Biosolutions is a molecular diagnostics company based in Munich. Using GNA’s disruptive PCA (pulse controlled amplification) technology, DNA from complex clinical samples can be analyzed, enabling ultra-fast and cost-effective molecular diagnostics. The tests are being developed for a number of therapeutic areas, including infectious diseases and biothreats.

Thermosome

The Munich-based biotech company Thermosome is developing drug candidates based on its proprietary technology platform for thermosensitive liposomes (TSL). TSLs are heat-inducible nanocarriers for local drug delivery that can achieve up to 15 times higher local drug concentrations. This significantly improves the treatment of locally advanced solid tumors.

iThera

The Munich-based diagnostics company iThera Medical develops imaging methods for medical diagnostics based on multispectral optoacoustic tomography (MSOT). This laser-enabled technology allows for the evaluation of optical tissue properties and thus enables a more accurate and non-invasive diagnosis in a variety of indications such as cancer and inflammatory diseases.

Resistell

The Basel based diagnostic startup Resistell develops a technology for more precise and fast antibiotic susceptibility testing. This method provides results within a few hours instead of the usual time of several days. This allows patients to receive the right medication from day one.

adivo

Adivo is a Munich based biotech company specialized in generating species-specific therapeutic antibodies for companion animals. The adivo team aims to address high medical needs in dogs including cancer and chronic inflammation, with the potential of expanding activities into the development of therapeutics for other species in the future.

Implandata

Implandata Ophthalmic Products is a medical device company based in Hannover, which specializes in an underserved area in the care of glaucoma patients. Implandata’s disruptive products combine innovative medical technology with cutting-edge information technology to create transformative solutions for better, more efficient glaucoma therapy, to the benefit of glaucoma patients, their families and caregivers.

4tiitoo

4tiitoo’s NUIA software platform accelerates daily work processes by incorporating eye-gaze and voice-control technology as well as AR interaction into programs such as SAP, Office and CAD, rendering work environments more productive, more secure and more attractive.

Versantis

Versantis is a Swiss pharmaceutical company developing a new generation of therapeutics and diagnostics to revolutionize the treatment of patients with acute and chronic liver failure.

Insphero

InSphero is a preferred partner of leading pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies for bringing more reliable, more effective drugs to the market more quickly. They do so with physiologically relevant 3D InSight™ microtissues and corresponding services.

iMusician

iMusician provides copyright services to musicians, monetizing copyrights (music distribution, YouTube, SoundCloud, etc.) and handling license fees for tens of thousands of musicians around the world.

EXITS

Kooaba

EXIT

The Zurich based ETH spin-off kooaba developed an image recognition technology connecting the physical world to digital content and was the first to introduce mobile visual search. The company was acquired by Qualcomm in 2014 and integrated into its AR team Vuforia. The Vuforia platform is considered one of the industry’s most advanced and widely adopted augmented reality technology platform.

Cunesoft

EXIT

Cunesoft built an innovative software platform for the demanding regulatory life sciences industry, drawing upon artificial intelligence and a sophisticated support system with a compliance guarantee. With Phlexglobal, Cunesoft has found a perfect match for its further internationalization of its unique software solution from 2020 onwards.

GET
IN
TOUCH

The Occident Ventures Team looks forward to receiving your e-mail at team@occident.ventures

 

Occident employees will be participating at the following events:

HTGF Family Day

05.10.2020, Online
Patrizia Schützenhöfer, Cédric Barra, Simon Schild von Spannenberg
Link

Swiss Startup Day

06.10.2020, Online
Cédric Barra
Link

RESPOND Virtual Demo Night

13.10.2020, Dresden
Patrizia Schützenhöfer, Simon Schild von Spannenberg
Link

Show more events

x

Ventures

Motivation

Wir investieren in Ventures, weil wir daran glauben, dass Innovation und Fortschritt das Leben von morgen nachhaltig verbessern.

Uns faszinieren Gründer, die gleichzeitig visionäre Experten und realitätsbezogene Unternehmer sind – Gründer, die aus einer Idee ein erfolgreiches Unternehmen entwickeln können.

Unsere Investitionsentscheidungen basieren auf einer starken Zukunftsorientierung. Entsprechend unserem Leitgedanken „tomorrow happens today“ finanzieren wir heute Startups, die morgen einen Mehrwert für die Gesellschaft schaffen.

Eine unserer wichtigsten Investitionsvoraussetzungen ist das Verständnis für die Technologie und das Produkt.

Wir sind ein finanzstarker, langfristig orientierter und vielseitig kompetenter Partner für Startups, legen grossen Wert auf gegenseitiges Vertrauen und bringen uns bei Bedarf auch aktiv ein. Denn als erfahrener Unternehmer sind wir mit den Herausforderungen vertraut, ein Unternehmen erfolgreich zu führen.

Investmentfokus

Wir investieren in Ventures aus den Bereichen Lifesciences, Digital und Hightech.

Als Investor sind wir grundsätzlich aufgeschlossen und an anspruchsvollen Zukunftsthemen interessiert.

Wir investieren, wenn wir nach eingehender Prüfung das individuelle Erfolgspotential sehen, wenn uns ein Startup sinnhaft und ganzheitlich überzeugen kann. Dabei sehen wir die in einem Startup involvierten Menschen, deren Vision und Motivation, als Schlüssel zum Erfolg. Grundvoraussetzung ist immer, dass die Technologie und das Produkt einen konkreten Nutzen für potentielle Kunden stiften.

 

WIR SUCHEN

  • hochmotivierte Gründer und dynamische Teams, die grosse Ziele erreichen und die Zukunft verändern wollen
  • exzellente Technologien und Produkte mit Potential für weitere Evolution, starke Patente

WIR BIETEN

  • Erst-Finanzierungen für Minderheitsbeteiligungen ab Seed-Finanzierungsrunde (ab EUR 500.000 im Bereich Lifesciences und Hightech, ab EUR 250.000 im Bereich Digital)
  • Folgefinanzierungen bei überzeugender Entwicklung
  • Geografischer Fokus ist Deutschland und Schweiz

AUSZUG AUS DEM PORTFOLIO

Numbrs

Numbrs entwickelt und vertreibt Produkte zum Erledigen von Bankgeschäften, zum Erwerb von Finanzprodukten und zum Verwalten von Vermögen. Die gleichnamige App ist Marktführer unter den bankenunabhängigen Banking-Apps in Deutschland.

Lunaphore

Lunaphore entwickelt auf Grundlage von immunohistochemischen Testverfahren eine Methode, die es erlaubt mit Hilfe von mikrofluidischen Systemen eine schnellere und präzisere Analyse von Tumorgewebe vorzunehmen.

advanceCOR

advanceCOR entwickelt innovative Medikamente mittels Companion Diagnostic zur personalisierten Behandlung von Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf innovativen biologischen Medikamenten für Indikationen mit hohem medizinischen Bedarf, die Entwicklung erfolgt von der Präklinik bis zum Proof-of-Concept in Phase II-Studien an Patienten.

hemotune

hemotune entwickelt einen einzigartigen Ansatz zur extrakorporalen Blutreinigung. Die Plattformtechnologie HemoSystem entfernt mit Hilfe von magnetischen Nanopartikeln gezielt bisher unzugängliche Biomoleküle aus dem Blut. Das Verfahren soll zunächst vor allem bei einer unkontrollierten Immunreaktion (septischer Schock) angewendet werden. Darüber hinaus kann die Plattform auch für eine Vielzahl von weiteren Indikationen verwendet werden.

Tubulis

Tubulis nutzt proprietäre Technologien zur Entwicklung neuartiger Medikamente, deren Wirkmechanismen tief an der Ursache der jeweiligen Krankheit ansetzen. Das Ziel ist es, das therapeutische Potenzial von Antibody Drug Conjugates (ADCs) zu erweitern, um so eine zielgerichtetere und effektivere Therapie von Krebs sowie anderen Erkrankungen zu ermöglichen.

Code Intelligence

Code Intelligence ermöglicht Software-Sicherheitstests durch innovatives Fuzzing bereits in der Entwicklungsphase. Mittels CI Fuzz können Schwachstellen früher und vollautomatisch erkannt werden, sodass Entwickler die Fehler schneller analysieren und an der Code-Basis beheben können. So verbessert CI Fuzz die Stabilität und Zuverlässigkeit von Software drastisch.

Algiax Pharmaceuticals

Algiax Pharmaceuticals ist ein Düsseldorfer Biotechnologie-Unternehmen, welches sich der Entdeckung und Entwicklung innovativer Produkte zur Behandlung von Krankheiten mit hohem medizinischem Bedarf widmet. Algiax‘ Lead Candidate AP-325 ist ein GABAA-Rezeptor-Modulator zur Behandlung von neuropathischen Schmerzen.

GNA Biosolutions

GNA Biosolutions ist ein Molekulardiagnostik-Unternehmen mit Sitz in München. Mit Hilfe der disruptiven PCA-Technologie (Pulse Controlled Amplification) von GNA kann DNA aus komplexen klinischen Proben analysiert werden und ermöglicht damit ultraschnelle und kostengünstige molekulare Diagnostik. Die Tests werden für eine Reihe von Therapiegebieten entwickelt, darunter Infektionskrankheiten und Biothreats.

Thermosome

Das Münchener Biotechunternehmen Thermosome entwickelt Medikamentenkandidaten, welche auf der unternehmenseigenen Technologieplattform für thermosensitive Liposomen (TSL) basieren. TSLs sind wärmeempfindliche Nanocarrier für eine lokale Medikamentenabgabe, womit eine bis zu 15-fach höhere lokale Wirkstoffkonzentration erzielt werden kann. Die Behandlung von lokal fortgeschrittenen soliden Tumoren wird damit signifikant verbessert.

iThera

Das Münchner Diagnostikunternehmen iThera Medical entwickelt bildgebende Verfahren für die medizinische Diagnostik basierend auf der Multispektralen Optoakustischen Tomographie (MSOT). Diese lasergestützte Technologie ermöglicht die Beurteilung der optischen Gewebeparameter und damit eine zuverlässigere und nicht-invasive Diagnose in einer Vielzahl von Indikationen, wie beispielsweise Krebs oder Entzündungskrankheiten.

Resistell

Das Basler Diagnostik-Startup Resistell entwickelt eine Technologie zur präziseren und schnelleren Identifizierung von Antibiotikaresistenzen. Diese Methode liefert Resultate innerhalb von wenigen Stunden anstatt der üblichen Zeitdauer von Tagen. Dadurch erhalten Patienten die richtige Medikation vom ersten Tag an.

adivo

Das Münchner Biotechnologieunternehmen adivo ist spezialisiert auf die Entwicklung von spezies-spezifischen therapeutischen Antikörpern für die Veterinärmedizin. Das Team von adivo hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, unterversorgte therapeutische Bereiche wie Krebs und chronische Entzündungen bei Hunden und anderen Haustieren zu adressieren.

Implandata

Implandata Ophthalmic Products, ein Medizintechnik-Unternehmen aus Hannover, entwickelt innovative Produkte für die Augenheilkunde, insbesondere für Glaukom-Patienten. Durch die Integration von modernster Medizintechnik mit benutzerfreundlicher Informationstechnologie kommt es zu einem deutlich effektiveren und besseren Krankheits-Management zum Wohle von Patienten und ihren Familien.

4tiitoo

4tiitoo‘s NUIA Software Plattform macht Arbeitsplätze produktiver, sicherer und attraktiver, indem tagtägliche Arbeitsabläufe in Programmen wie SAP, Office und CAD durch Blicksteuerung, Sprache und AR-Interaktion beschleunigt werden.

Versantis

Versantis ist ein Schweizer Pharmaunternehmen, das eine neue Generation von Medikamenten und Diagnostika entwickelt, um die Versorgung von Patienten mit akutem und chronischem Leberversagen zu revolutionieren.

Insphero

InSphero ist der bevorzugte Partner für führende Pharma- und Biotechnologieunternehmen, um zuverlässigere und wirksamere Medikamente schneller auf den Markt zu bringen. Erreicht wird das durch physiologisch relevante 3D InSight™ Mikrogewebe und den dazugehörigen Services.

iMusician

iMusician ist im Bereich urheberrechtliche Dienstleistungen für Musiker tätig, monetisiert Urheberrechte (Musikvertrieb, YouTube, SoundCloud, etc.) und kümmert sich um die Lizenzgebühren für Zehntausende von Musikern auf der ganzen Welt.

EXITS

Kooaba

EXIT

Das Zürcher ETH Spin-off kooaba entwickelte eine Bilderkennungstechnologie, welche die physische Welt mit digitalem Content verbindet. Damit waren die beiden Gründer die ersten, die eine mobile visuelle Suche präsentierten. Das Unternehmen wurde 2014 von Qualcomm übernommen und in das AR-Team Vuforia integriert. Die Vuforia-Plattform gilt als eine der fortschrittlichsten und am weitesten verbreiteten Augmented-Reality-Technologieplattform der Branche.

Cunesoft

EXIT

Cunesoft aus München entwickelte Lösungen für die anspruchsvolle regulatorische Lifesciences Industrie auf Basis einer innovativen Softwareplattform, unter anderem unter Zuhilfenahme von künstlicher Intelligenz und einem ausgefeilten Supportsystem mit Compliance-Garantie. Mit Phlexglobal hat Cunesoft Anfang 2020 einen perfekten Partner für die weitere Internationalisierung ihrer einzigartigen Softwarelösung gefunden.

GET
IN
TOUCH

Wir freuen uns auf die Kontaktaufnahme mit dem Occident Ventures Team unter team@occident.ventures

 

 

MITARBEITER VON OCCIDENT WERDEN AN FOLGENDEN EVENTS TEILNEHMEN:

VentureCon B2B

29.10.2020, Online
Patrizia Schützenhöfer, Simon Schild von Spannenberg
Link

HTGF Private Investors' Circle

05.11.2020, Online
Michael Pauer
Link

DxPx 2020

17.11.2020, Online
Cédric Barra
Link

Mehr Events anzeigen